Dolphin at Sunset! (Painting captioned:Freedom at Dawn)

“Freedom at Dawn” – explained.

February 9th is always an important day as it is the birthday of my favourite person in the world – My grandmother. She is my biggest ‘fan’ – in the sense that my grandmother each year, eagerly awaits her custom-made birthday card or letter and firmly declares that I am getting better at each year (which I doubt!). 

This year unfortunately, the card arrived late because as I called her London time 3AM to correspond with the perfect hour back in India, she requested a seascape to be drawn! As she had never made a request before, I promptly made up my mind to draw and send her a seascape-of-sorts, although another picture was ready and just about to be posted.

The medium for this picture is all wrong – because I decided to use the back of a printed A4 paper to save on material. The instant I added water to the colour pencils, I fondly remembered the thick matte-finished sketchpad I own that is tucked safely in my drawers in Ahmedabad! (Am a broke student in London now – and despite a student discount for water colour pencils, they are  still the most expensive art equipment I have ever bought!)

But having drawn and paint it in a haste – I am glad my Grandmother enjoys it. Behind the cardboard is a message for her which is an ode to the one value she and I prize the most – freedom!

Dolphin at Sunset Medium : Water colour pencils and sketch pens on A4 paper, mounted on cardboard for support.

Dolphin at Sunset
Medium : Water colour pencils and sketch pens on A4 paper, mounted on cardboard for support.

To my beloved Aaboo – am so glad we got 27 years together! May there be many more!

About Chiteisri: The Gypsy Diaries

Its a Fair Warning to all =) While there may be some things about me that everyone knows ... There will always be something about me which nobody can or ever will, figure out! But for a typical introduction - I am a former Law student from India, who is a writer and traveler at heart. I am 27 and have been to 28 countries (and counting) and this blog is a humble attempt at taking a part of my life, experiences, holidays, learnings and dreams to another world of imagination in cyber-space. I know that the world has its fair share of problems, and there is plenty to despair about out there. But I truly believe that this world can be diverse, plural and inclusive and yet one entity - humanity. I am the Dreamer, a lost soul - slowly finding her way back home i.e. to herself! I write. I read. I paint. I dream. I learn. I listen. I empathize. I travel, and no matter who or what I become - these I shall always do! https://chiteisri.wordpress.com/2012/04/11/defining-a-me-at-23/
Image | This entry was posted in Art, My Canvas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

