Where a Temple meets the Sky…

"Kecak Dance"

Pura Luhur Uluwatu is an ancient Temple by the sea, and is sometimes called the cliff-hanging temple. Some say the Temple guards the south coast of Bali, and I for one could feel its inner strength. It is a magnificent site up high-on-a-cliff, and an offering of prayer could take you ‘higher.’

It has “guarded” the kingdom since the 11th century, and is one of the most well-preserved yet ‘touristy’ sights of the island.  One can see some astonishing sights out here – including the very crafty, goggles-snatching monkeys! The highlight of my visit was witnessing the Kecak dance ceremony enacting the Ramayana.

A fire burning in the center, the skies streaked purple, the sea-echoing beyond and the sun paying homage to Earth below – it was an evening to remember! If spirituality elevates one, then Pura Luhur Uluwatu is where the Temple meets the Sky!

About Chiteisri: The Gypsy Diaries

Its a Fair Warning to all =) While there may be some things about me that everyone knows ... There will always be something about me which nobody can or ever will, figure out! But for a typical introduction - I am a former Law student from India, who is a writer and traveler at heart. I am 27 and have been to 28 countries (and counting) and this blog is a humble attempt at taking a part of my life, experiences, holidays, learnings and dreams to another world of imagination in cyber-space. I know that the world has its fair share of problems, and there is plenty to despair about out there. But I truly believe that this world can be diverse, plural and inclusive and yet one entity - humanity. I am the Dreamer, a lost soul - slowly finding her way back home i.e. to herself! I write. I read. I paint. I dream. I learn. I listen. I empathize. I travel, and no matter who or what I become - these I shall always do! https://chiteisri.wordpress.com/2012/04/11/defining-a-me-at-23/
Gallery | This entry was posted in Vista - The World through my Lens! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.